

alaska judicial council

510 L Street, Suite 450, Anchorage, Alaska 99501-1295 (907) 279-2526 FAX (907) 276-5046 http://www.ajc.state.ak.us E-mail: postmaster@ajc.state.ak.us

Press Release

Contact: Susanne DiPietro, Executive Director Alaska Judicial Council 510 L St., Suite 450 Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 279-2526 postmaster@ajc.state.ak.us www.ajc.state.ak.us For immediate release April 29, 2024

Alaska Judicial Council

Public Hearing about Judges on the Ballot in November Wednesday, May 8, 2024 4:30 p.m.

As required by State law, the Alaska Judicial Council is evaluating the judges who are eligible to be on the ballot this November. On Wednesday, May 8, 2024 at 4:30 p.m. the Council will hold a statewide public hearing to solicit comments about these judges (see list below). Members of the public are invited to participate by Zoom videoconference with meeting ID 863 2522 6382 and passcode 072643, or by calling 1 (833)928-4610 at 4:30 p.m. They may also write or email the Council at the addresses listed above.

The Council is interested to hear about the judges' legal ability, fairness, diligence, integrity, temperament, and overall performance. The public hearing is part of the Council's comprehensive performance review of judges who will stand for retention. The Council's comprehensive review includes feedback from people who have experience with these judges (attorneys, law enforcement and probation officers, jurors, court employees, and social services professionals), the judges' financial disclosures, how often a trial judge's decisions were affirmed on appeal, whether a judge's pay was withheld for any untimely decisions, and other information. The Council will vote its retention recommendations at a public meeting on May 23, 2024.

Judges on the Ballot in 2024

Appellate Courts

Dario Borghesan	Supreme Court
Jennifer Henderson	Supreme Court
Marjorie K. Allard	Court of Appeals
Timothy W. Terrell	Court of Appeals

First Judicial District

Second Judicial District

No judge from the Second Judicial District will stand for retention in 2024.

Third Judicial District

Valdez Superior Court Homer Superior Court Anchorage Superior Court Anchorage District Court

Fourth Judicial District

Patricia L. Haines	Fairbanks Superior Court
Maria P. Bahr	Fairbanks District Court
Matthew Christian	Fairbanks District Court